Paul the Sailor Man by Kris Rooney

Do you ever feel like you have too many expectations?  Maybe there are too many balls in the air?  Forgot to take a juggling class?  Sometimes either we expect too much from ourselves, or others expect too much from us.  It can be maddening at times.  Too much to do and not enough time to do it.  Sometimes it feels like we can’t give anything our complete attention.

Now, I’m not talking about shirking responsibility.  It is good to work hard and see the fruit of your effort.  A little stress is healthy.  It keeps you moving forward.  I’m talking about a weight of stuff.  A to-do list gone crazy.  Like one more thing might put you over the edge.  We’ve all been there, right?  What are we to do with all these expectations?

Learn from St. Paul!  Paul said, “But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me has not been ineffective, ”  (I Corinthians 15:10).  I always think of Popeye when I read this.  “I yam what I yam!”  But Paul speaks such truth.  We can only be who we are.  Thanks be to God!  That is all God wants from us.  God only wants us to be God’s beloved children.  That is it.  If we get that, the rest feels easier.  Knowing this gives us the strength to do the rest of it.  God’s only expectation of  us is to love God.  He even gives us the ability to do it.  Allow God’s love in, and God will fulfill all of your expectations.

So next time you are feeling overwhelmed, keep this song in mind!

One response

  1. I’m so glad I clicked to reply – because I hadn’t seen the movie/song clip in my email. When you recommended “the song” I sang the t.v. cartoon version of my youth. Thanks for a great laugh and I will NEVER see St. Paul the same way again……

Leave a Reply

