The “I don’t know” Prayer

Kris Rooney here.  For my morning prayer today, I quieted myself and thought about what I wanted to say to God.  The first words out were, “I don’t know.”  There are things happening that I don’t have answers for, not just in my life (nothing earth-shattering) but in the world  (quite earth-shattering).  I have no idea what to do or where to even find the answer.  Do you ever feel that way?  But it is extremely comforting to know that God accompanies me.    God accompanies all of us.  It reminds me of this prayer by Thomas Merton.  He seems to have found better words than my short, I-don’t-know prayer.  You may know it, but it’s worth repeating:

MY LORD GOD,

I have no idea where I am going.

I do not see the road ahead of me.

I cannot know for certain where it will end.

Nor do I really know myself, and the fact

that I think that I am following your will

does not mean that I am actually doing so.

But I believe that the desire to please you 

does in fact please you.  And I hope I have

that desire in all that I am doing.

I hope that I will never do anything 

apart from that desire. 

And I know that if I do this you will lead me

by the right road

though I may know nothing about it.

Therefore will I trust you always though I may seem lost

and in the shadow of death.  I will not fear,

for you are ever with me,

and you will never leave me

to face my perils alone.

AMEN

One response

  1. I’ve always loved that prayer…even at my age now.

    Thx. for sharing Kris. We’ll see you Thursday and may your day be peace-filled !

    Carla

    “Friendships begun in this world can be taken up again in heaven, never to be broken off.” (Francis De Sales) ___________________________________

    REMEMBER: If you forward this please remove all E-mail addresses and use the “bcc” feature in the address box.

    NOTE: the information transmitted via this e-mail is intended only for the person or entity to which it is addressed and may contain confidential and/or privileged material. Any review, retransmission, dissemination or other use of, or pursuing of any action in reliance upon this information by persons or entities other than the intended recipient is prohibited. If you are the recipient of this in error please contact the sender and delete the material from any computer.

Leave a Reply

