Love One Another – Really?

Father Bob’s Last Sunday Homily…

bobblogobucco

7th Sunday of Easter B

“Beloved, if God so loved us, we also must love one another.”  Those words from the first letter of John are backed up in John’s Gospel when Jesus says, “Love one another as I have loved you.”  So as long as God has loved us, it is our responsibility to love everyone.  I think that sounds great in theory, but in practice it seems… let’s just say it seems a little problematic.

Loving one another is quite an expectation to put on us.  To love without discrimination, without quantifying and without exception seems a dangerous road.  I want to say to Jesus, “sure I would like to love everyone, but have you ever met_______?”

There are plenty of reasons both universal and personal not to love everyone.  For me, first off, loving everyone sounds exhausting. I mean I love the people I love, but…

View original post 672 more words

Leave a Reply

